The Adamawa state government has imposed 24 hour curfew on Lafiya, Boshikiri, Zakawan, Masermei, Dumna Zerbu, Dumna Burthi, Dumba Dutse, Duwu and Tsalbu communities in Lamurde and Guyuk local Government areas of the State following renewed disturbances that has claimed many lives with property destroyed.

The 24 hour curfew takes immediate effect until further notice.

The Government in a press statement signed by Humwashi Wonosikou, Press Secretary to the the governor, warns residents of the affected communities to respect the order while everything is being done to restore normalcy.

“Government expects that communities that have been living peacefully for decades should share so much in common to be able to give peace a chance.

“While guaranteeing the safety of the people of the State, Government advises Citizens to exercise restraint and refrain from taking the Law into their hands.

“It is regrettable that the disturbance is coming just weeks after the Tingo crisis warning that government will not take it lightly with anyone out to cause trouble. Finally, every step has been taken for Security agencies to enforce the curfew, ” the statement reads.